The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2021, 08:45 PM   #1
Asshat
Senior Member
 
Asshat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: South Orange County CA
Posts: 1,041
Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

Wondering where you guys put your tach? Mounted under the dash or clamped to the column?
Open to suggestions!

I know it would be nice to install in the dash, however, I just don’t want to take it apart right now.

Thanks!
__________________
1963 C20, small window, long bed
292, 4-speed
Asshat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2021, 08:55 PM   #2
AcampoDave
Registered User
 
AcampoDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: central California
Posts: 2,157
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

I clamped mine to the column and I made it's wiring into a little harness with a plug kit on the end so I could easily remove it for a show or whatever. Thing is I never remove it anyway.
AcampoDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2021, 09:02 PM   #3
Asshat
Senior Member
 
Asshat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: South Orange County CA
Posts: 1,041
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcampoDave View Post
I clamped mine to the column and I made it's wiring into a little harness with a plug kit on the end so I could easily remove it for a show or whatever. Thing is I never remove it anyway.
Any pics? What brand? Did you buy it on Summit or someplace like that?
__________________
1963 C20, small window, long bed
292, 4-speed
Asshat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2021, 09:42 PM   #4
Steeveedee
Senior Member
 
Steeveedee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 6,604
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

My FiL mounted a tach at the far left of the dash at the bottom of the A-pillar.
__________________
'70 Chevy 3/4T Longhorn CST 400/400/3.54 Custom Camper
Steeveedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2021, 10:44 PM   #5
cwcarpenter98
Senior Member


 
cwcarpenter98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Hickory Flat, GA and Milledgeville, GA
Posts: 2,349
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

I mounted mine on the column, but I just zip tied it. Haven't had a zip tie break at all in the approximate 4 years it's been there. Also, if I need to remove the cluster, all I have to do is rotate it over to the side
Attached Images
  
__________________
Christian Carpenter

1963 C10 - Frankentruck 283, 3 speed with overdrive
Overdrive wiring here
1995 Dodge Dakota Sport

"I'll put it simple: if you're going hard enough left, you'll find yourself turning right." - Doc Hudson
cwcarpenter98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2021, 11:17 PM   #6
AcampoDave
Registered User
 
AcampoDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: central California
Posts: 2,157
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asshat View Post
Any pics? What brand? Did you buy it on Summit or someplace like that?
Its an old Suntune mini that i bought brand new waaay back when. It came with a big ol' hoseclamp for column mounting. That location provides for a quick unobstructed view too. I kind of use it as a speedometer since mine is hopelessly broken anyhow.
Attached Images
 
AcampoDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2021, 11:58 PM   #7
Asshat
Senior Member
 
Asshat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: South Orange County CA
Posts: 1,041
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwcarpenter98 View Post
I mounted mine on the column, but I just zip tied it. Haven't had a zip tie break at all in the approximate 4 years it's been there. Also, if I need to remove the cluster, all I have to do is rotate it over to the side
Quote:
Originally Posted by AcampoDave View Post
Its an old Suntune mini that i bought brand new waaay back when. It came with a big ol' hoseclamp for column mounting. That location provides for a quick unobstructed view too. I kind of use it as a speedometer since mine is hopelessly broken anyhow.
Can you guys recommend a good one?
__________________
1963 C20, small window, long bed
292, 4-speed
Asshat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2021, 02:19 AM   #8
SOON2BLAZE
Account Suspended
 
SOON2BLAZE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Southern UT
Posts: 838
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

You will need a tach for a 6 cyl. Simplest solution is one from eBay that doesn't require a transmitter box. I would look at a Moon Eyes if you want big one or a small one such as the Super Pro 81316. The small one could also be placed in your cluster at a later time with another face on it.....

search 81316 and there's a NIB for 60. shipped
SOON2BLAZE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2021, 09:02 AM   #9
cwcarpenter98
Senior Member


 
cwcarpenter98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Hickory Flat, GA and Milledgeville, GA
Posts: 2,349
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

I used an Equus tach that I got from the parts store. One of the LED backlights failed, but other than that, it has worked well for me. It can do 4, 6, or 8 cyl and points or HEI dizzys
It was fairly inexpensive back then
__________________
Christian Carpenter

1963 C10 - Frankentruck 283, 3 speed with overdrive
Overdrive wiring here
1995 Dodge Dakota Sport

"I'll put it simple: if you're going hard enough left, you'll find yourself turning right." - Doc Hudson
cwcarpenter98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2021, 12:41 PM   #10
Paul Y
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Essex
Posts: 653
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

I used this one on my 56 PU.

Does 4, 6 and 8 cylinders. Wouldn't necessarily trust it in a high winding 8K small block but in a steady away 6 cylinder it will do you fine.

Plus it looks the part.



https://www.mooneyesusa.com/MOONEYES.../mpg5000tm.htm

As for location attach it to the column as per others or stick it on the top of the dash and use the holes for the speaker to run the wires and secure it.

P.
__________________
Woody's Build -

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=658621

If it goes wrong, I blame the Internet...
Paul Y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2021, 12:45 PM   #11
AcampoDave
Registered User
 
AcampoDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: central California
Posts: 2,157
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

I was googling around one day for a friend trying to look for a Suntune tach, but all I found that was close to mine was Actron/Bosch. The reviews on Amazon are pretty strong though https://www.amazon.com/s?k=bosch+tac...l_5ttj5aczp2_e This one most closely resembles mine with regard to it's appearance and 2 5/8 inch size. https://www.amazon.com/Bosch-SP0F000...4121142&sr=8-4

Last edited by AcampoDave; 06-19-2021 at 12:52 PM.
AcampoDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2021, 02:15 PM   #12
Klas
Junior Member
 
Klas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Trinity, NC
Posts: 83
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

I made a cluster housing out of fiberglass so I could mount tach, temp, oil pressure and volt gauge. Gauges are small but readable.
Attached Images
 
Klas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2021, 10:01 PM   #13
vin63
It's Better With Nitro
 
vin63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Posts: 2,191
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

Here's where I mounted mine.
Attached Images
  
__________________
1963 C-10: Deluxe-optioned cab, shortbed, fleetside
Pontiac 462 ci, Kauffman D-Port alum. heads
4L80E, narrowed sheetmetal Ford 9-inch
Tubular front and rear suspension
Custom 6-piston front disc and 4-piston rear disc brakes
vin63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2021, 10:38 PM   #14
cwcarpenter98
Senior Member


 
cwcarpenter98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Hickory Flat, GA and Milledgeville, GA
Posts: 2,349
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

I forgot I had mounted it on the bottom of the dash for a bit before I moved it to the column. I like the column mount better because I don't have to take my eyes off the road as much to see the tach on the column compared to below the dash.
Sorry for the sideways pic
Attached Images
 
__________________
Christian Carpenter

1963 C10 - Frankentruck 283, 3 speed with overdrive
Overdrive wiring here
1995 Dodge Dakota Sport

"I'll put it simple: if you're going hard enough left, you'll find yourself turning right." - Doc Hudson
cwcarpenter98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 06:59 AM   #15
Paul Y
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Essex
Posts: 653
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

Quote:
Originally Posted by vin63 View Post
Here's where I mounted mine.
Very nice Vin!

Do you really swing that Poncho to 6K ++?

P.
__________________
Woody's Build -

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=658621

If it goes wrong, I blame the Internet...
Paul Y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 08:41 AM   #16
vin63
It's Better With Nitro
 
vin63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Posts: 2,191
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

Thanks! It made peak HP at 5900 RPM, and I have taken it up to there a few times.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Y View Post
Very nice Vin!

Do you really swing that Poncho to 6K ++?

P.
__________________
1963 C-10: Deluxe-optioned cab, shortbed, fleetside
Pontiac 462 ci, Kauffman D-Port alum. heads
4L80E, narrowed sheetmetal Ford 9-inch
Tubular front and rear suspension
Custom 6-piston front disc and 4-piston rear disc brakes
vin63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2021, 09:50 AM   #17
my04
Registered User
 
my04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Muskegon, MI
Posts: 119
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

On the column, rotated to the right side.

Name:  0602180711.jpg
Views: 224
Size:  36.5 KB
__________________
1954 GMC 100 - 216 C.I. I6
1966 Custom Camper -327 C.I. V8
1972 K10 SWB - 400 C.I. SBC
2003 Corvette Z06 - LS6 350 C.I. 405HP
2015 Silverado 2500HD - 6.0L V8
my04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 10:21 PM   #18
Asshat
Senior Member
 
Asshat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: South Orange County CA
Posts: 1,041
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

I picked up an Auto Tune tach, hopefully, it will work.
Attached Images
 
__________________
1963 C20, small window, long bed
292, 4-speed
Asshat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 10:28 PM   #19
AcampoDave
Registered User
 
AcampoDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: central California
Posts: 2,157
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

Cool, it'll be good to know your freeway rpms and shift points and all that. I'm kinda curious myself since you have the overdrive and all, maybe you can keep this thread alive by letting us know.
AcampoDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2021, 10:31 PM   #20
Asshat
Senior Member
 
Asshat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: South Orange County CA
Posts: 1,041
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcampoDave View Post
Cool, it'll be good to know your freeway rpms and shift points and all that. I'm kinda curious myself since you have the overdrive and all, maybe you can keep this thread alive by letting us know.
Definitely!
I also just found out a friend of mine has a good friend that owns a rear end/differential shop in LA. Now I have some place to go, and hopefully, a good source of info!
__________________
1963 C20, small window, long bed
292, 4-speed
Asshat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2021, 09:53 PM   #21
slepysal
Registered User
 
slepysal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Jose NOR*CAL
Posts: 2,981
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

A little late but here is mine
Name:  tack.jpg
Views: 121
Size:  37.7 KB
__________________
1960 Apache long bed fleet L6 250 Clifford intake 2 bbl carb. Headers with dual exhaust and bellflower tips. T-5 5 speed, power steering and power disc brakes.

"Over, Around or through it... "
slepysal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2021, 11:41 PM   #22
AcampoDave
Registered User
 
AcampoDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: central California
Posts: 2,157
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

Now that this thread is back, how did the tach work out Mr Hat? What are your freeway rpms? Overdrive vs. 4th gear and all that
AcampoDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2021, 12:06 AM   #23
Asshat
Senior Member
 
Asshat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: South Orange County CA
Posts: 1,041
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcampoDave View Post
Now that this thread is back, how did the tach work out Mr Hat? What are your freeway rpms? Overdrive vs. 4th gear and all that
Hey Dave, it was a busy few days and I have not yet had the truck out on the highway. After 4th of July, the old wagon and BBQ ended up in the back of the bed. Gotta get it stored before I can drive the truck. In addition, my 2nd grandchild was born on the the 15th!
I know I’m just making excuses, best I can do right now. I do mean to keep this thread going and get the rpm info out there, I am also curious what rpm I will be running at 65.
__________________
1963 C20, small window, long bed
292, 4-speed
Asshat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2021, 08:03 AM   #24
MT65
Active Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Kila mt
Posts: 138
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asshat View Post
Hey Dave, it was a busy few days and I have not yet had the truck out on the highway. After 4th of July, the old wagon and BBQ ended up in the back of the bed. Gotta get it stored before I can drive the truck. In addition, my 2nd grandchild was born on the the 15th!
I know I’m just making excuses, best I can do right now. I do mean to keep this thread going and get the rpm info out there, I am also curious what rpm I will be running at 65.
For your rpm at unknown speeds, go to tiresize.com, there are some equations there to help you, put in your known values, it will give you your unknown…..easier than mounting a tach….
MT65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2021, 10:21 AM   #25
Paul Y
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Essex
Posts: 653
Re: Tach suggestions, location, but not in dash

Quote:
Originally Posted by MT65 View Post
For your rpm at unknown speeds, go to tiresize.com, there are some equations there to help you, put in your known values, it will give you your unknown…..easier than mounting a tach….
Yea... But a tach is COOOOOOLLLLLLL.

P.
__________________
Woody's Build -

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=658621

If it goes wrong, I blame the Internet...
Paul Y is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2020 67-72chevytrucks.com