The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 05-24-2021, 07:31 AM   #1
kcstreetracer

Getting brake lights to work

I'm trying to get my brake lights working. It has all new harnesses but brake lights wont work. What circuits have to be complete for them to work? Like on headlights they won't work without the dimmer. Is there anything like that on the brakes? Sorry for the newbie question I'm new at this lol
Old 05-24-2021, 08:05 AM   #2
Ol Blue K20
Proprietor of Dale's Corner

Re: Getting brake lights to work

Is the turn signal switch plugged in?

Dale
XNGH ECV Sam Brannan 1004

R.I.P. 67ChevyRedneck
R.I.P. Grumpy Old Man
Ol Blue K20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2021, 08:09 AM   #3
BigBird05

Power for the brake lights come from the brake light switch. Power into thw switch is orange.Power out of the switch is white. Goes into the steering column up to the turn signal switch. If the turn signal switch is not turned to either the left or right then the power goes out the left wire ( yellow )and right wire (dark green )thru the firewall connector back to the frame connector then out to the left and right sides. No lights is usually caused because of a bad ground. Start by checking for a bad ground. If the ground is good (do you have running lights ), then go to the brake light switch and start checking for power. Then work your way thru the system till you find the bad connection.
BigBird05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2021, 08:14 AM   #4
Minkota

also, confirm you have a good grounds at the tail/brake lights. I just went thru this myself.
Minkota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2021, 08:26 AM   #5
kcstreetracer