The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-18-2016, 06:04 PM   #1
dmjlambert

How do you remove the needle seat in a 69 Quadrate

My engine runs fine when I fill the bowl with gas through the bowl vents. It runs a minute and quits. I have complete gas blockage going into the bowl. I am not experienced in carb repair but would like to fix this one thing so I can just drive my truck up to somebody with some experience and get the carb completely checked out. I am pretty confident if I remove the crud in and under the seat all will be fine for the immediate future. I have run into a disassembly problem, due to my inexperience I do not know how to remove the seat. It is not the same kind of seat that comes with my carb kit. The one that comes with the carb kit has notches that make it convenient to screw in with a screwdriver. The old seat has no such notches. It appears to be slightly mangled on the outer edge where somebody in the past may have messed with it. I'm not sure if they tried to use needle nose pliers or something like that to remove it. Is that what I need to do, just grab it with pliers an turn?

This is a 1969 CST-10 with 350 CI engine, Quadrajet carb number 7028219.
Attached Images

dmjlambert is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2016, 09:08 PM   #2
dmjlambert

Re: How do you remove the needle seat in a 69 Quadrate

Sorry about misspelling Quadrajet as Quadrate. Auto spelling check is messing with me. You guys are going to think I'm nuts.
Old 06-18-2016, 10:50 PM   #3
snipescastle2

Talking Re: How do you remove the needle seat in a 69 Quadrate