The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board > 67-72 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Projects and Builds

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-25-2018, 02:19 AM   #1
will69camaro

Newbie to C10 crew - A matched pair of 69s

As a little background to the introduction, I'll start by saying i'm no newbie to old cars. I still have my first car which is a 69 camaro. Over the last 10 years, i've been building an over the top pro-touring setup that snowballed out of control! That's exactly what I'm planning NOT to do with the C10!

69 camaro mentioned above is a LSX 427, twin turbo, Detroit Speed suspension ground up build.

I just started driving it last year and have taken it to few meets and one national event (LS Fest) where I "competed" in the grand champion event. I say "competed" cause mostly it was me trying to keep the car running and shaking the bugs out.

Enough of that car, why am I HERE?

Well two weeks ago i was out of town for work and saw a perfect candidate pop up on a facebook page and immediately went to work figuring out how to pick it up.

The truck in question is a 1969 Chevy SWB. It's got a 67 front and bed on it. It's going to be a good match for the Camaro!

Its not perfect, paint is decent driver which is what I wanted, and it's powered (currently) by a 350/700R4. Has 3.73 rear gears and 20" american racing "rallye style" wheels in 20x8 and 20x9.5.

I made the deal and flew to OK to inspect and pick up the truck just a little over a week later. Rented a car in OKC and picked up some car parts from JetHot while I was there. Drove down to Duncan and saw it for the first time. It was love at first sight.