The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board > Squarebody Projects and Builds

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-04-2014, 02:19 AM   #1
rcsbls2

My Friends 76 Silverado in my Paint Shop Jail

I've been reading lots of Builds looking for inspiration to get Todds truck worked on. Its in my garage and I don't work on it very often... But I need to get at it and get it painted. I'm not a professional painter but rather a hobbyist and enjoy working away at it. He asked me to go to look at a 70 or 71 Blazer his son wanted to buy. I said sure he said great were going to Las Vegas!!! So the three of us were off, landed at about midnight and it was like 95 degrees!! The next day we were off in rental car look at the Blazer.I had seen the ad. When we got htere he was all excited and as the owner told him how great it was, I was looking it over. 2wd lowered in primer,(why is a desert truck primered??) It had Autometer Guages in the dash looked nice till I looked under and nothing was hooked up. It was sitting out in front on the concrete driveway. hotter than all getout. I got down to look at the underpinnings and the first thing in my face a 2 x 4 wooden transmission crossmember!!! Any way I suggested we go for a ride and the owner said sure goanywhere we wante but had to stay inside gated community. So we went around corner were i stopped and told them this thing was not worth the $10 grand he was asking and showed them my opinion of problems. Son still wanted it and dad and i said never going to happen!!