The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Electrical

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 02-07-2009, 10:39 PM   #1
pegleggreg

Exclamation fuel level gauge & sending unit help

I have a problem. I keep running out of gas. I have a fuel cell with a fuel level sending unit. But the prior owner had a wire from the fuse block to the sending unit & no ground wire to the sending unit at all. While i was chasing the wire from the sending unit to the fuse block i noticed a couple cuts in my carpet on the floor board. Also some melted wire, so obviously there was a problem. I am no electrician, but to me, it is not safe to run a hot wire to the gas tank. So i disconnected the wire. Does anybody know the correct way to wire up the fuel level gauge to the sending unit? It reads resistance i think.
pegleggreg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 11:16 PM   #2
VetteVet
Msgt USAF Ret

Re: fuel level gauge & sending unit help

It is very helpful to indicate some details about your vehicle because there are differences in the years and it keeps the guessing game down some.
Try this link. DO NOT PUT ANY HOT WIRES TO THE TANK SENDING UNIT!!!! You might burn down your truck. You may not have the sending unit flange grounded I.E. the tank may not be grounded back to the battery negative through the frame.

http://www.6066gmcguy.org/Electrical-02.htm

metallic green 67 stepside
74 corvette convertible
1965 Harley sportster
1995 Harley wide glide

Growing old is hell, but it beats the alternative.

Last edited by VetteVet; 02-07-2009 at 11:21 PM.
VetteVet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 03:15 AM   #3
pegleggreg