The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Suspension

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-14-2011, 12:16 AM   #1
1968robinsegg

Question c20 suspension recap?

hello everybody another newbie here, found this site the other day and have been reading ever since! awesome site-so much information its unbelieveable and everyone seems so happy to help! its very appreciated!!

my question is this- i just got a 1968 c20 with rear leafs, 8 lug, manual steering and brakes.

from what i gather and excuse me if this incorrect- the front suspension from a 73-87 1/2 ton chev or gmc truck/van will bolt in place to get 5 lug bolt pattern,front disc power brakes? also i can use the booster and master and the p/s parts?

the rear diff will be wider by about a inch and a half and will need new perches welded on with a 2 or 3 degree down pinion angle?

last ?? i was thinking of using the 5" lowering leafs from early classics, has anyone used these? good or bad??

thanks for the help!!!
1968robinsegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 01:00 AM   #2
SCOTI

Re: c20 suspension recap?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1968robinsegg View Post
my question is this- i just got a 1968 c20 with rear leafs, 8 lug, manual steering and brakes.

from what i gather and excuse me if this incorrect- the front suspension from a 73-87 1/2 ton chev or gmc truck/van will bolt in place to get 5 lug bolt pattern,front disc power brakes? also i can use the booster and master and the p/s parts?
Correct.

Quote:
the rear diff will be wider by about a inch and a half and will need new perches welded on with a 2 or 3 degree down pinion angle?
1/2 tons? Yes. 8-lug 3/4 tons might be the same width.

Quote:
last ?? i was thinking of using the 5" lowering leafs from early classics, has anyone used these? good or bad??

thanks for the help!!!