The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-02-2018, 02:32 PM   #1
wingnut62

Ignition switch question

I am having a heck of a time establishing my accessory position on my ignition switch. It's a stock 65 switch, i have hunted every connection on it for continuity between the power and the acc connector with the key in the acc position.

Thinking my switch was faulty I drove to H&H Classic parts and their switch did the exact same thing. I am not a novice tech guy my any stretch, did the entire wire harness for the LS in it, wired all else up so I know my way around the electrical circuit. This one however has me bumfuzzled.

Am I supposed to get voltage at the acc conductor on the switch when in the ACC position with the key? Any help, suggestions, comments would be appreciated. I really don't want to run a separate switch for accessory power.
wingnut62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 04:03 PM   #2
vin63
It's Better With Nitro

Re: Ignition switch question

The ACC position on my factory switch didn't work (I think it is more of a lock than ACC), nor any of the OE replacement switches I tried. I know that doesn't help, but I have had the same experience.
Tubular front and rear suspension
Custom 6-piston front disc and 4-piston rear disc brakes
vin63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 04:42 PM   #3
wingnut62