The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-17-2017, 11:30 AM   #1
gmc4x4can

something clunks when accelerating and braking in driveline

So after a 9 month job on my truck (new cab, disc conv on front, lots of new interior parts) I finally passed the inspection here in B.C. What a relief. Since it wasn't drivable when I got it, I'm just learning some of the quirks driving it. The big one is there is a clunk when giving it gas, then you can feel it unload when you let off or brake, and it will clunk when you give it more gas again. there is play in the driveline somewhere. I can turn the rear drive shaft quite a bit by hand before it locks, where as the front drive shaft hardly moves at all. Truck came with two sets of diff gears, and two empty boxes that said posi, wonder the clunk is a result of that?
Attached Images

gmc4x4can is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2017, 01:20 PM   #2
LockDoc
The Older Generation

Re: something clunks when accelerating and braking in driveline

Quote:
Originally Posted by gmc4x4can View Post
So after a 9 month job on my truck (new cab, disc conv on front, lots of new interior parts) I finally passed the inspection here in B.C. What a relief. Since it wasn't drivable when I got it, I'm just learning some of the quirks driving it. The big one is there is a clunk when giving it gas, then you can feel it unload when you let off or brake, and it will clunk when you give it more gas again. there is play in the driveline somewhere. I can turn the rear drive shaft quite a bit by hand before it locks, where as the front drive shaft hardly moves at all. Truck came with two sets of diff gears, and two empty boxes that said posi, wonder the clunk is a result of that?