The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2014, 09:03 AM   #126
skymangs
Senior Member
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,672
Re: S10 Swap how to

Thanks Bill for making this a sticky. I hope it will be a good tool for quick reference.

Side note. I just got an longbed pickup going on an extended cab in the shop today. As I build this one I'll be able to give ya'll dimensions for extended cab conversion as well.
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2014, 10:25 AM   #127
BlueJeep
Registered User
 
BlueJeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Waukee, Iowa
Posts: 1,423
Re: S10 Swap how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by skymangs View Post
Side note. I just got an longbed pickup going on an extended cab in the shop today. As I build this one I'll be able to give ya'll dimensions for extended cab conversion as well.
That's what mine is! I trimmed 2.375" off the front of the bed to match the extended cab wheelbase.
__________________
build threads:

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=384736

http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...=1#post8149268

54 Chevy wagon
49 Chevy/s10 mix
88 Jeep Wrangler rockcrawler
BlueJeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 04:01 PM   #128
User Error
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Jacksonville FL
Posts: 55
Re: S10 Swap how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by skymangs View Post
User Error; The TBI motor uses 2 temp senders. The one on the passenger head is for the gauge only, The one on the intake is for the ECM. Replace the one on the head with your new sending unit. The ECM doesn't read oil pressure, so you are good to replace that sender anyway.

So, to re-cap, leave the temp sensor in the intake, replace the one in the head with the Dolphin supplied one. Replace the Oil pressure sender with the Dolphin supplied one. Should work like a charm.

There is also a plugged sensor hole on the driver side head (near the exhaust manifold) you can use if you don't want to mess with the original ones.
Great info... thanks... I'll head out there in a bit and take a look at the temp sensor, as currently the front one is out and the manual gauge is in it's location... will hunt out the one on the pass side of the head... I was just researching the VSS and looking at pics of the wiring... and I'm seeing it's a two wire set up... any info on which wire does what? Sorry to ask so many questions, I love wiring but I've never messed with any gauges so this is a learning experience for me... Also can anyone post a photo of the gauge cluster plug? I've got a ton of plugs wrapped around my column not being used and that would help me figure out which one I'm searching for...
__________________
1950 Chevy 3100 Patina, S10 Swap #layinpatina
1923 T-Bucket 350 SBC,350 Turbo Trans
User Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 05:59 PM   #129
Black93GT
Registered User
 
Black93GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 86
Re: S10 Swap how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by skymangs View Post
Side note. I just got an longbed pickup going on an extended cab in the shop today. As I build this one I'll be able to give ya'll dimensions for extended cab conversion as well.
I'm looking forward to this one. I'm hunting for a cheap extended cab for my 3600. They're snagged before I can get to them, and I don't want to pay extra for a pretty one. Can't wait to hear the verdict on this swap.
Black93GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 08:50 AM   #130
skymangs
Senior Member
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,672
Re: S10 Swap how to

User Error; the two wires off the VSS should go directly to the ECM. There will be one wire from the ECM that gives signal to the speedo. I posted the pinout for S10 Dash plug earlier on this thread.
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 08:52 AM   #131
skymangs
Senior Member
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,672
Re: S10 Swap how to

On the 3600 build. So far, the cab stand reference points and measurements are exactly the same as the long-bed frame. I am prepping the 5.3L/4L60E combo today, hopefully be the end of the week the bed will be mocked up.
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 05:37 PM   #132
User Error
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Jacksonville FL
Posts: 55
Re: S10 Swap how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by skymangs View Post
Thank you, I like using 87-91 chassis, with a 4.3L and 700R4. pre-87 didn't have a 4.3, so the 700R4's from them won't bolt up to a small block. 92 they converted to VSS, with no mechanical speedo output. Send me a PM on brackets, I've made them for several folks, but I don't usually do it that way since the running boards and bed are kind of a fab as you go thing.
So the only drawback on 92 and later is no mechanical speedo cable? So if you're using electronic gauges there's no issues? and the 700r4 will accept the 4.3 or the SBC/350?
__________________
1950 Chevy 3100 Patina, S10 Swap #layinpatina
1923 T-Bucket 350 SBC,350 Turbo Trans
User Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 06:10 AM   #133
Old Crow
Registered User
 
Old Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Fox, AR
Posts: 394
Re: S10 Swap how to

Sarge, I see lots of pickups done with the s-10. Ever done an AD panel truck/s-10 swap?
__________________
Old Crow

'54 Chevy Panel, '00 Bounder 36S, '95 Jeep YJ
Old Crow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 09:06 AM   #134
skymangs
Senior Member
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,672
Re: S10 Swap how to

User error; Correct.

Old Crow; I have not done a panel truck yet, but I can't see the difficulty. They use the same bed and cross sills as a truck. Should be pretty much exactly the same.
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 11:10 AM   #135
beanyard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Idaho Falls, Idaho
Posts: 245
Re: S10 Swap how to

I just bought both a 49 and 53 burb (one for parts) and I was thinking of swapping onto an s10 but I wondered if the low part of the frame would hang too low.
__________________
1959 Fleetside Big Window Long Box
Standard Trim soon to be Deluxe
1953 GMC Carryall Suburban
beanyard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 04:17 PM   #136
User Error
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Jacksonville FL
Posts: 55
Re: S10 Swap how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by skymangs View Post
User Error; the two wires off the VSS should go directly to the ECM. There will be one wire from the ECM that gives signal to the speedo. I posted the pinout for S10 Dash plug earlier on this thread.
10-4 anyone have an actual pic of what the gauge plug looks like? I've got the unused portion of the harness all zip tied around the column up under the dash many many plugs... not doing the tear down myself... no clue which plug I'm looking for LoL... Fun stuff finishing someone elses project... it's got it own set of issues...
__________________
1950 Chevy 3100 Patina, S10 Swap #layinpatina
1923 T-Bucket 350 SBC,350 Turbo Trans
User Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 06:11 PM   #137
Black93GT
Registered User
 
Black93GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 86
Re: S10 Swap how to

Maybe i'm a sucker for punishment or a control freak.... but i can never start where anyone left off. especially when it comes to wiring.

Not sure what year speedo you have... but here's a good start.
http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=313815
Black93GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 10:52 PM   #138
skymangs
Senior Member
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,672
Re: S10 Swap how to

Beanyard; frame should sit just like it does on the truck swap. should look fine.

User Error; Sorry, no pics of the plug. It's a Blue rectangle plug with 18 pins. Should be the only one like it in the dash board area.
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 02:46 PM   #139
Garyhenrich
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Black Diamond, WA
Posts: 53
Re: S10 Swap how to

Sorry if I missed this answer, can the s10 front coils be used for the conversion using a V8?
Garyhenrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 04:28 PM   #140
S10Fan
Old Heap Driver
 
S10Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newport News, Va
Posts: 2,523
Re: S10 Swap how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by Garyhenrich View Post
Sorry if I missed this answer, can the s10 front coils be used for the conversion using a V8?
I had a V-8 S-10 with lowering springs, no issues at all.
__________________
_____________________________
Bryan

'97 GMC Yukon, 5.7, 4L60, 2 door, 2 wheel drive
'50 Chevy 3100, 307, TH350, S10 Chassis, air ride
'50 Chevy 2DR Hard Top, all original, for now
'30 Model A Pickup, suicide front end, 350-tri-power. Some call it a "Rat Rod", I call it a Hot Rod!
S10Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 12:31 AM   #141
skymangs
Senior Member
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,672
Re: S10 Swap how to

Garyhenrich; Yes, I've never changed front coils. They work nicely. What I would recommend is new ball joints (Moog or equivalent), and replacing any worn suspension components while you swap in the drop spindles. Less headaches later that way!
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 10:05 AM   #142
Garyhenrich
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Black Diamond, WA
Posts: 53
Re: S10 Swap how to

Thanks, I will upgrade the worn parts when I install the drop spindles. Great thread. I took all this info, plus info from other threads on s10 conversions and put them all into a 40 page document that I am now following on my conversion. I have a 48 3800 that has a restored body that I'm dropping on a 84 s10. My 48 had a 54 235 installed and they moved the radiator ahead a couple of inches for fan clearance, Not sure if I'll need to change out the radiator to clear the steering box. Again, thanks for all the help, should be dropping the body on the frame in a couple weeks.
Garyhenrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 09:23 PM   #143
skymangs
Senior Member
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,672
Re: S10 Swap how to

If it's a 1 ton, are you stretching that S10 frame, or are you converting it to a short bed?
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 11:13 PM   #144
Garyhenrich
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Black Diamond, WA
Posts: 53
Re: S10 Swap how to

Moving to a short bed. Bought another 48 3100, pulled the bed and running boards off of that and will set the new rig up as a short bed 48. My cab is fulling restored with a wooden flat bed but needs an updated chassis.
Garyhenrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 10:57 AM   #145
skymangs
Senior Member
 
skymangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Algona, IA
Posts: 1,672
Re: S10 Swap how to

Gotcha... should be a pretty straight forward swap then.

Update on the 54 long bed swap. The long bed is about 2.5" too long for the wheelbase. The solution I came up with is to remove 1.25" from each of the bed splash guards (to tuck the bed closer to the back of the cab) and to re-locate the rear end rearwards 1.25". Other than that, the swap has all been exactly the same.
skymangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 08:55 PM   #146
lowroder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: toledo ohio
Posts: 94
Re: S10 Swap how to

Skymangs... I Have A 1/2 Ton Longbed Im Looking To Swap Soon.
I Talked To The Guys At EZ Swap Chassis An They Told Me That For Longbed /LWB Trucks Using S10 Ext Cab Frames 87-92 All You Have To Do Is Flip The Rear Springs Around Front To Back.. This Will Give You The 125" Wheel Base Fitment ...
Yes or No? You Seem To Have Mastered These Swaps..
lowroder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 09:39 PM   #147
Atmsrus1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Pearl, Mississippi
Posts: 22
Re: S10 Swap how to

Thank you so much for this write up. I have been searching the web for any info I could find and this is great. Me and a buddy of mine are trying to do a 1950 ( at least that is what he said it was) for another friend of ours. he wants it for his dad that has cancer and has less than 6 months to live. We are hoping to get this done in less than 60 days but niether of us have done anything like this. I have cut and pasted almost 50 pages from this thread to have at our finger tips.. Great write up, thanks again.
Atmsrus1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 01:06 PM   #148
N123DY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Johnstown, Colorado
Posts: 71
Re: S10 Swap how to

In brand new here. Just bought a second series 55 with a 58 fleetside bed. Any reason this swap won't work for me? Looks like my wheelbase is a little longer but I'm sure there's room to massage things a bit. There's a 118" wheelbase s-10 chassis on CL for $350. Thinking I'm gonna snatch it up. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
N123DY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 05:02 PM   #149
Ed ke6bnl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Agua Dulce, Ca. usa
Posts: 179
Re: S10 Swap how to

I have gone through much of the write up and it is very detailed, I have the 53 chevy the S10 explorer rear end, and just purchased a cummins 4bt and will use a nv4500 for the the engine and trans choice. Will be putting a lot of your ideas into mine, thanks for the write up done well
__________________
Ed ke6bnl
Agua Dulce
70 S.E. Los Angeles
70 Chevy short bed
1948 F3 ford pu
1949 F1 stock V8 flathead 3 on floor
1950 F1 pu street rod
1948 F6 Ford Dually/350sbc no bed stock trans&rear
1972 El Camino 4" chop
1953 Chevy 3100 2b daily driver
1970 SB 4X4 400ci 6in lift
Ed ke6bnl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 08:56 PM   #150
wibas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eau Claire, Wi.
Posts: 134
Smile Re: S10 Swap how to

Anybody out there used longer upper and lower a-arms instead of spacers on the front end? I would like to use tubular a-arms and not use the wheel spacers. Thanks
wibas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2013 67-72chevytrucks.com