The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-10-2008, 10:14 AM   #1
C20-67_N_MO
Champagne Taste on Beer Budget

Lightbulb '67 Resto project

Hey Guys,

I am new at this but have had a passion for car & trucks for many years. My problem is I do not have a big budget to work on my 1967 Chevy truck. I want to do it right but fear it might cost me more than what I can handle.

How do you guys do it?

I mean do you just tackle the part of the truck that needs the most attention first or what?

My ride is fairly typical of a 40+ year old truck rust, dents and generally just falling apart. Heck I can't even get it to pass inspection so I can get the title in my name! Should I just cut my loses and look for one in better shape?

Or slowly start fixing the things I can and then on the body, research and try to find someone to help?

Thanks for any input & advise.

Below is a link to this truck.

C20-67_N_MO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 11:05 AM   #2
Shyguy

Re: '67 Resto project

Welcome to the board from a fellow Missourian.

Where do you live in Missouri? I live just south of Cape Girardeau about 25 miles.

In Missouri you do not have to get an inspection to put the title in your name, just to license it. When I got my '67 I just took the title from the previous owner to our local license bureau and told them I want to put it in my name and they did without any problem.

Mine is in pretty sad shape, my son and I put it together from 5 or 6 different year trucks. What I am going to do it is get it road worthy and then start the restoration. I live in the country on a small farm and like to be able to drive my trucks around on it from time to time to do chores.