The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board > 67-72 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Projects and Builds

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-12-2009, 10:47 PM   #1
jsmithbm

First Timers Build/Super Stock 70 Step

So, I was ask by several people if i would be doing a build thread. I didn't know if it would interest you all. I've read many many post and they all interest me. Maybe the same is true for other people. I will read 1500 pages of material before i try something new. However I am a visual learner. Just a quick run down on my background, then on to the photos. I know you all like the pic's more than reading this stuff. LOL. Anyhow, I was a Police Officer for about ten years, retired and moved on to something else. I followed several of my buddies and went into the Insurance business as an Estimator/Adjuster. I have good street sense so to say but mechanical and body knowledge has all been obtained from watching Stacey David and the others on TV. Enough about that. I have been wanting an old Chevy Truck for some time. I have been asking a lot of questions and going out to see a lot of trucks. This past 4th, i went back to my hometown where my parents lived. I showed them a truck that had been on Craigs list for a few weeks. Made an offer and bought the truck. Here is what the owner had posted for pics on his listing.

It's a twenty footer at most, and thats stretch. Well it's a 1970 Chevy C/10, Step w/spare mounted on bed. It has a L6/250. Power nutting. So i bought the truck, it idled great so thought we would drive it home.
I've driven several 5 speeds in my life but never a three speed, on the tree.