The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > LSx Swaps

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-24-2016, 09:19 AM   #1
Mr.Chevy4x4

Boosted LS management - someone please give me the Cliff's notes version

I'm not new to LS swaps, but I am new to turbocharging a Gen III engine. I have done a LOT of searching and reading, and I'm on information overload. Someone please school me on engine management.

Please don't limit your responses to answering just these questions, as they are only a few that just popped into my mind:

Best to eliminate the MAF and do a speed density tune?

What MAP sensor is best (mild boost < 12)?

Should I go with an aftermarket controller like microsquirt?

Being fairly engine and computer intelligent, should I buy software and try this myself or is a boosted application the wrong thing to be learning on?

My planned setup: Stock gen III 5.3 with 98 LS1 vette cam (it was free), LS6 springs, BTR push rods, trunion kit, 60# injectors, walbro 400, GT45 turbo, 50mm wastegate, air to air front mount intercooler, 4l80e, and 3.73:1 gears.

Initially planning 8-10 psi with 450-500 rwhp. May include meth injection at some point???

Thanks in advance,
Mike

Last edited by Mr.Chevy4x4; 12-24-2016 at 09:36 AM.
Mr.Chevy4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2016, 02:29 AM   #2
Overdriven

Re: Boosted LS management - someone please give me the Cliff's notes version