The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > Welcome and Discussion > General Discussion

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 11-30-2018, 02:15 PM   #1
In The Ten Ring

Do you take on the scammers?

I just now kept a scammer busy for about 2 minutes. Automated call on "lowering credit card interest rate." I stayed on the line this time and got a foreign-sounding guy although his accent was not as heavy as I expected.

I do a decent Chinese voice imitation. I told him I didn't have credit cards, I only carried cash. He spent the next 2 or more minutes trying to convince me "credit cards are safer." He finally got angry and hung up on me.

That's 2 minutes he couldn't use to harass or scam someone else.

Oddly enough, this is my parents' house and they really don't have any credit cards!

Once I answered as if I was a police officer and that they had called the police station. That was a short call.

Another time I acted like I was interested in the loan they were offering but I needed something in the millions. I kept that guy busy for a while too.

I love the Youtube videos of guys really stringing the scammers out for minutes at a time.

Do you guys also do this?
In The Ten Ring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 02:35 PM   #2
special-K
Special Order

Re: Do you take on the scammers?

Scammers or telemarketers? I've never gotten an attempted scam by phone. I usually turn the telemarketers down as short and sweet as possible, like one sentence that let's them know they'd be wasting their time pursuing any further. I have been know to be cocky with them, though, and waste their time. Been a long time since I've gotten any solicitations by phone. Good thing. Knock on wood!

GMC '67 C1500 Wideside Super Custom SWB: 327/M22/3.42 posi.........."The '67" (project)