The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > LSx Swaps

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-13-2015, 01:27 PM   #1
Bowtiguy

HELP! Garage smells like gas. Need a good hose!!

Well, I've been driving my LC9/TR6060 swap 68' SWB for a couple of months now. Initially, I bought 3/8" generic fuel line from Peterson fluid systems ( about 20 min from me) when I was down there buying fittings for the fuel system.

I ran a return system with a NLE tank to MSD atomic EFi fuel rails, through an Aeromotive fuel pressure regulator and then back to the tank.

Initially, everything was fine. Within a week of first fire I started to smell gas in the garage going out from the house. I checked all 6 fittings and the fuel rail O-rings to find nothing. IF I got under the truck and put my nose ANYWHERE on the fuel lines I could smell gas through the fuel line.

Easy solution, Put in higher quality fuel lines. $130 and 2 hrs later, I had my new Aeroquip AQP socketless hose installed. much tougher hose, better looking all the way around. 3 days later....gas smell again.

I cant stand smelling fuel every time I walk out of the house into the garage ( but not as much as my wife). I thought about "upgrading" to their racing or starlight hose but it looks like they have the same internal construction.

any suggestions? I have no problem changing brands, going to re useable ends etc.., just gotta get rid of the smell.
Bowtiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 01:31 PM   #2
slotard

Re: HELP! Garage smells like gas. Need a good hose!!

I'd expect hardline to be better. Obviously you need some soft hoses, but limiting the amount should help.
Old 12-13-2015, 02:23 PM   #3
truckdude239

i'm running summits ptfe stainless braid hose i dont smell anything

1971 Chevy c-10 under going a 4.8l LSx swap