The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network







Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > LSx Swaps

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2016, 06:16 PM   #1
Cheyenne350
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Riverside CA
Posts: 32
78 c10 to have LS1

Hello everyone I'm planning a ls1/4l60E swap into my 78 c10 RWD, I'm somewhat lucky here since I'm a owner of a 98 camaro z28 but bad thing is that it was involved in a accident so to repair it would be a waiste. Now I have the opportunity to transfer everything I could from the z28 into my c10 so I guess it could be called Z10 now.. Reading I know there are several options for engine mount adapters and tranny kits as well, question is what's better recommended here? No sure if I'm able to use the z28 rear diff on the c10 even tho both are 10bolt? Only reason why I would switch the z28 over is because it has 373 gears also rear disk breaks being that my c10 is stock with drums in the rear. If I plan to switch everything over would I still have to flash the computer and cut something off the wire harness? Would you guys recommend using the radiator from the z28 and transmission cooler? Any info will help you guys thanks.
Attached Images
 
Cheyenne350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 06:18 PM   #2
Cheyenne350
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Riverside CA
Posts: 32
Re: 78 c10 to have LS1

The camaro
Attached Images
 
Cheyenne350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 06:19 PM   #3
N2TRUX
Happy to be here

 
N2TRUX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 39,056
Re: 78 c10 to have LS1

I'm going to move this to the LS forum. There is a massive amount of info there specific to your conversion.
__________________
Follow me on Facebook and Instagram @N2trux.com

Articles-

"Jake" the 84 to 74 crewcab

"Elwood" the77_Remix

85 GMC Sierra "Scarlett"

"Refining Sierra"
N2TRUX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 09:02 PM   #4
Misled
Registered User
 
Misled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Nashport, OH
Posts: 537
Re: 78 c10 to have LS1

Cheyenne350,
I am working on a very similar swap. ( http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=516817 )

I am using the Hooker/Holley swap stuff for the most part and having good luck so far.

I can't help with the computer/wiring things since I am not that far along.

Your rear axle isn't a 12 bolt?

Take care,

Barry
Misled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 09:19 PM   #5
ls1nova71
Registered User
 
ls1nova71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Independence Mo
Posts: 4,003
Re: 78 c10 to have LS1

Doesn't look like the rear end in the Camaro faired very well, is it worth using? Also, you are going to have to have the PCM tuned to get rid of VATS anyway, unless you are going to use a VATS bypass, so you can change the rear end ratio at that time.
__________________
My '72 short bed build. http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/conver...6-0-4l80e.html

5.3 swap into my RUSTY '71 C10
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...71-c-10-a.html
ls1nova71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 10:10 PM   #6
LockDoc
The Older Generation

 
LockDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montezuma, Iowa
Posts: 22,118
Re: 78 c10 to have LS1

-
I'll flip the Camaro this time...

LockDoc
Attached Images
 
__________________
Leon

Locksmith, Specializing In Antique Trucks, Automobiles, & Motorcycles
LockDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 10:21 PM   #7
slotard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 877
Re: 78 c10 to have LS1

Isn't the transmarobird rear end a 7.5 while the C10 8.5? And even the truck ones aren't known for their strength... if I was doing a rear end swap I'd do something a little more worthwhile, I'm not sure if there's a GM one that really counts.

You're probably better off with a custom or modified harness and a flash because you won't want to make all the sensors from a more modern car work.
__________________
1973 C20, 350/350
slotard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 12:01 AM   #8
Cheyenne350
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Riverside CA
Posts: 32
Re: 78 c10 to have LS1

Misled: I was looking at thier kits also Dirty Dingos but wasn't to sure but I have seen more users go with Holley/hooker items. Are you also using the oil pan hooker offers as well as the tranmission kit? Just to clarify. The rear end is a 10 bolt but previous owner upgrade the diff with 373 gears which did help up very well in take offs.

Wow nice job on yours wish I could do a full resto on my truck but just to eager on getting it done lol.
Cheyenne350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 01:27 AM   #9
Cheyenne350
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Riverside CA
Posts: 32
Re: 78 c10 to have LS1

Ls1nova71: The whole driver side rear end was pushed to the passenger side breaking the driver side rear axle. I'm kinda hoping I could use it but of not I'll just look for a 12bolt and go from there. Another thing I'm wanting to do is keep it the swap smog legal being a 78 here in California I still need it so I'm kinda deleting the idea of using the axle since it was sensors and I guess it's going to lead me to have to flash the computer. I was just going to bypass the vats I found another forum on ls1.com how to do so.
http://www.ls1.com/forums/f6/how-byp...ur-vats-61262/
Cheyenne350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 12:26 PM   #10
Matt Cramer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Covington, GA
Posts: 387
Re: 78 c10 to have LS1

I made my own engine mount adapters from 1/4" steel plate and would do so again if I were doing another swap. It wasn't very difficult.

I would use the stock truck radiator as long as it's in good shape.

If using the stock ECU, you'll need to do some reprogramming to bypass the antitheft system.
__________________
Matt Cramer
1972 Chevy C10 - 4.8 swap, long bed, and maybe one dent free body panel somewhere - SOLD
4.8 LS build thread
Matt Cramer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 03:07 PM   #11
slotard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 877
Re: 78 c10 to have LS1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheyenne350 View Post
Ls1nova71: The whole driver side rear end was pushed to the passenger side breaking the driver side rear axle. I'm kinda hoping I could use it but of not I'll just look for a 12bolt and go from there. Another thing I'm wanting to do is keep it the swap smog legal being a 78 here in California I still need it so I'm kinda deleting the idea of using the axle since it was sensors and I guess it's going to lead me to have to flash the computer. I was just going to bypass the vats I found another forum on ls1.com how to do so.
http://www.ls1.com/forums/f6/how-byp...ur-vats-61262/
I was under the impression that you need to use an engine out of the same class of vehicle to be a legal swap.
__________________
1973 C20, 350/350
slotard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 03:09 PM   #12
Wasted Income
Boosted Member
 
Wasted Income's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mackinaw, IL
Posts: 2,202
Re: 78 c10 to have LS1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheyenne350 View Post
The camaro
Must have been a roll-over.
__________________
1972 2wd K/5 Blazer Turbocharged 370 LSx - 941 rwhp / 1093 rwtq
1969 Chevy K-10 L33 5.3 / 4L80E / NP241 / 4" lift
1964 Buick Skylark Twin turbo 383 LS pro-touring project
1999 Tahoe 2-door - Daily Driver
2015 Sierra Denali HD Duramax Turbodiesel
2016 Ford Explorer Sport - Twin Turbskis
2017 Polaris RZR Turbo
2004 Sunsation Dominator - Twin 496 big blocks

TURBO ALL THE THINGS!!
Wasted Income is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 03:31 PM   #13
Cheyenne350
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Riverside CA
Posts: 32
Re: 78 c10 to have LS1

Slotard: I was under the exact same impression but asking around it is possible if you have everything to be smog legal such as gas tank, fuel pump all smog accessories from engine as well the catalytic converters. A personal from DMV said this to me.
Cheyenne350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 07:14 PM   #14
slotard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 877
Re: 78 c10 to have LS1

DMV employees aren't always well informed. I'd suggest talking to a BAR referee before starting the swap. You'll have to go to one to get it approved.
__________________
1973 C20, 350/350
slotard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2016, 12:42 AM   #15
mattcrp1
Registered User
 
mattcrp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mountain House, CA
Posts: 556
Re: 78 c10 to have LS1

I am doing a similar swap on 76 for smog legality. Hit the referee up and get the info you need. There is a member here that got the blue tag of legality for his swap.
__________________
My Chevy habit is paid for by Ford diesels...
Here is my SLOW LS install: http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...55#post6456355
Caliper Rebuild: http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=613748
Upper Control Arm Bushings: http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=616974
IG mattcrp1
mattcrp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 05:51 PM   #16
teamcurtis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: San Deigo
Posts: 1
Re: 78 c10 to have LS1

I am down in san diego looking to do roughly the same thing, on the same truck.
Its my understanding you cant put a car engine into a truck and have it be smog legal
teamcurtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 07:50 PM   #17
toddoky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 252
Re: 78 c10 to have LS1

Quote:
Originally Posted by teamcurtis View Post
Its my understanding you cant put a car engine into a truck and have it be smog legal
That is true as well as not being able to legally
put a truck engine in a car. The engines are certified to meet different emission standards in their original installed applications, which is why does not allow them to be swapped interchangeably.
toddoky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2016, 08:54 PM   #18
cagodinez
Registered User
 
cagodinez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 238
Re: 78 c10 to have LS1

I wonder if there would be a way to pass it of as a 5.3, maybe with a 5.3 pcm? Just my .02
cagodinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1997-2020 67-72chevytrucks.com